Once On This Island

4 star rating

[Click or tap the stars to read our review]

A captivating calypso-flavoured re-telling of the Little Mermaid fairy tale.
Once On This Island at Southwark Playhouse

Image: Southwark Playhouse


Genre: Musical
Venue: Southwark Playhouse
Started: Friday 9 August 2019
Closes: Saturday 31 August 2019
Running time:1 hr 25 mins
Age suitability: Not available

Buy tickets


Presented by the British Theatre Academy, this youth production is presented by arrangement with Music Theatre International (Europe).

Features flashing lights and haze.


Once On This Island is a captivating calypso-flavoured re-telling of the Little Mermaid fairy tale.

The story begins on a Caribbean island where villagers comfort a little girl with the legend of the romance of the peasant orphan Ti Moune, and a rich city boy whom she saves from death.

The Island Gods have different plans for her story, but Ti Moune is destined to love too much for the human heart to bear.

Social media & info

Website link for this show YouTube link for this show Facebook link for this show twitter link for this show



Postal address:
77-85 Newington Causeway
London SE1 6BD

Box office tel: 020 7407 0234

Box office email: -

Location map for Southwark Playhouse


Previews from:Friday 9 August 2019

Press night:Wednesday 14 August 2019

Closes:Saturday 31 August 2019

Performance days & times


Tuesday ‑ 7‑30pm

Wednesday ‑ 7‑30pm

Thursday ‑ 7‑30pm

Friday ‑ 7‑30pm

Saturday ‑ 7‑30pm



Tuesday - 3-30pm

Saturday - 3-30pm

Sunday - 2-30pm, 5-30pm






Buy tickets


Chrissie Bhima - Ti Moune

Marie-Anna Caufour - Euralie

Andre Beswick - Ton Ton

Sam Tutty - Daniel

Elliot Gooch - Armand

Odelia Dizel-Cubuca - Andrea

Martin Cush - Papa Ge

Jonathan Chen - Asaka

Aviva Tulley - Erzule

Kyle Birch - Agwe

Kassidy Taylor - Little Ti Moune (press night)

Roisin Cox - Little Ti Moune

Ella Biddlecombe - Female Ensemble

Eithne Cox - Female Ensemble

Naomi Alade - Female Ensemble

Nesah Gonzales - Female Ensemble

Grace Venus - Cover Ensemble

Maddison Tyson - Male Ensemble

Tommy Robinson - Male Ensemble

Kingsley De Costa - Male Ensemble


Author: Lynn Ahrens
Composer: Stephen Flaherty
Lyricist: Lynn Ahrens
Director: Lee Proud
Designer: Simon Wells
Musical direction: Chris Ma
Choreography: Lee Proud
Lighting: Andrew Exeter
Sound: Andrew Johnson
Production: British Theatre Academy

Show of the month ticket offer ...

Buy tickets for School of Rock at the Gillian Lynne Theatre